You are here: Home

Discovering a unique heritage

Listed by UNESCO since 1999, Mons Belfry is a remarkable example of local architectural history. The only baroque belfry still in existence, it was built between 1661 and 1672 by Louis Ledoux (architect and sculptor) and Vincent Anthony (architect and surveyor).  A symbol of the city of Mons and an important landmark, the belfry was constructed following the collapse of its predecessor, the clock tower, due to dilapidation. Primarily for reasons of civic safety, the authorities were obliged to replace it with a new tower, in the style of the era. Chiming to indicate sunrise, the opening of the gates, curfews, the start of work and rest periods, and any fires spotted by the lookout, the belfry was a key part of everyday life.

With a square footprint, 459,000 bricks make up the walls, and a spiral staircase connects the various floors. The exterior is made of Ecaussinnes blue stone.

With 365 steps, a height of 87 metres and 49 bells to discover, the belfry is scheduled to reopen in 2015. This fabulous structure will accommodate an interpretive centre dedicated to its history and its listing as a UNESCO heritage site, as well as enabling visitors to enjoy panoramic views.

A project co-funded by Wallonia, the CGT and the City of Mons.

The symbol of the City of Mons

The belfry has a square plan, with walls composed of 459,000 bricks, and a spiral staircase going up the first floors. Standing 87 metres high, with 49 bells to be rediscovered, the Belfry reopened on 4 July 2015.

Belfry

Belfry

Open Tuesdays to Sundays from 10 am to 6 pm

Send us an email

T. 0032(0)65.33.55.80